What Will Happen If I Reset My iPhone/iPad

Home>>Phone Clean>>What Happens When You Reset iPhone/iPad

What Happens If You Reset Your iPhone or iPad

When an iPad or iPhone breaks down or gets malfunctioning, many people might think that resetting an iPhone or iPad could be a good way to fix the problem. However, they are not sure what will happen when they reset their iPhone or iPad and what they should do before resetting an iPhone or iPad. So this article will help you understand the reset settings on iPhone or iPad and be clear what happens when you reset your iPhone or iPad.

1. What Will Happen When You Reset Your iPhone or iPad
2. How to Reset iPhone or iPad Permanently and Securely

1. What Will Happen When You Reset Your iPhone or iPad

In iOS device, there are 6 reset options on iPhone, iPad or iPod, and these different reset settings have different functions and is aim at dealing with different situation. You can preview and operate the reset resetting by going to "Settings" > "General" > "Reset" on your iOS device.

what happens when you reset iphone ipad

· Reset All Settings

When you tap "Reset All Settings" option on pop-up window to confirm your action, this will reset all settings on your device but no data or media will be deleted from your device.

To be specific, this will reset your Settings to factory default, which means it removes all of your preferences for Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Do Not Disturb, Notifications, General, Sounds, Brightness, Wallpaper and Privacy on your iPhone or iPad. However, all your data like messages, photos, videos, music, documents will remain on your phone.

· Erase All Content and Settings

This will restore your iPhone or iPad to factory settings. Besides all settings will be back to factory settings, all data will be removed from iPhone or iPad. After restarting, your iPhone should be set up from the beginning like a new phone.

Specifically, everything will be erased on your iPhone or iPad, including your preferences of settings and media files like photos, music, videos, apps, account and passwords and etc. Your device will be erased to a clean slate. It is worth mentioning that this will restore your iPhone or iPad to the latest iOS software update, of course it will not downgrade your iPhone or iPad from iOS 11 to iOS 10.

what happens when factory reset your iphone or ipad

· Reset Network Settings

This will delete all VPN and APN connections and all stored Wi-Fi password & usernames for networks that you have accessed before with your iPhone or iPad. But the VPN settings set yo from Profile will not be eliminated.

what happens when you reset network settings on iphone or ipad

· Reset Keyboard Dictionary

This will delete all custom words you have typed on the keyboard, returning the keyboard dictionary to factory default. That means everything that you have added to dictionary will be deleted from your iPad or iPhone.

· Reset Home Screen Layout

This will reset your home screen layout to factory defaults, which means your device's home screen will be reset to the default grouping of apps.

· Reset Location & Privacy

This will reset the location services and privacy settings to factory default settings on your iPhone or iPad. By default, Location Services (Settings > Privacy) is set to Off. Here it is necessary to mention that when you turn off Location Services feature on your iOS device, you will not track your device using Find My iPhone feature when you lose your iPhone or have your iPhone stolen. Find My iPhone feature must be enabled along with Location Services when tracking a lost device.

Resetting an iPhone or iPad is not safe enough.

Whether you still expect that simply resetting an iPhone or iPad can securely and permanently delete your personal data on your device? No, a simple reset is not enough to protect your personal information until your data is overwritten, or they can be recovered by a third-party recovery tool like Coolmuster iOSRescuer. So what's the best solution on earth? Please read on to learn the safe way to reset your iPhone or iPad.

2. How to Reset iPhone or iPad Permanently and Securely

What happens if you reset your iPhone or iPad in the permanent way? Using iOS Data Eraser (Mac/Windows) for iPhone/iPad/iPod, your personal data will be fully overwritten and erased, and there is no opportunity to be recovered, including contacts, text messages, videos, photos, voice memos, notes, calendars and etc. In a word, this iOS Data Eraser can help you well protect your personal information and make them unrecoverable and removed from iPhone/iPad permanently.

And this program is compatible with all generations of iOS device, including iPhone X/8 Plus/8/7 Plus/7/6s Plus/6s/6 Plus/6/5S/SE, iPad Pro, the new iPad, iPad Air, iPad 2, iPad mini, iPod touch and etc. Below are the program in Mac and Windows version, please free download it on your computer and reset your iPhone or iPad safely.

Note: Before resetting your iPhone or iPad, please remember to backup your device in case of unexpected data lost.

Steps to reset iPhone or iPad Permanently and safely:

Step 1. Download, install and run the iOS Data Eraser on your computer, then make your iDevice connected to computer with a USB cable. Thus your device will be detected by the program automatically.

connect idevice to pc

Step 2. Then select the related erasing mode on the interface. To reset an iOS device permanently, please select "Erase All Data" mode and hit "OK" option to start erasing all contents from your device with no chance to restore.

how to reset iphone or ipad permanently and securely

Related Articles:

How to Restore iPad after Factory Reset

How to Restore from iCloud Backup without Reset?

How to Retrieve Deleted Files from iPad

Add a comment

Feedback

FeedbackHelp us make our website better for you

Please select your question type and we'll guide you to the right service team.